top of page
Network Cable Technician

Smart Automation Certification Alliance

The Smart Automation Certification Alliance (SACA) is a non-profit organization whose mission is to develop and deploy modular Industry 4.0 certifications for a wide range of industries.

Certification Preparation

SACA certification examinations and hands-on testing are performed at SACA Authorized Testing Centers. Organizations can become a testing center by becoming a SACA member and sending at least on individual in the organization to SACA Teacher Training.


To be considered for certification, individuals must be employees or students of a SACA member. Individuals can prepare for the online examination using any text, online courses, or other means that align with the standards. No specific course is necessary! Individuals passing the written examination receive a Silver Credential. To prepare for the hands-on evaluation individuals can use any means to develop the skills. No specific brand of training equipment in necessary! The hands-on examination though must be performed on SACA-approved equipment.

Need to verify a SACA Certification?

Our vision is to provide highly affordable, accessible certifications that significantly increase the number of individuals who possess the skills represented by these credentials, thereby ensuring that companies have the highly skilled workers they need, and individuals are prepared to be successful in an Industry 4.0 world.

Smart Automation Certifications | Industry 4.0

SACA’s Smart Automation certifications use a modular structure to enable them to fit a wide range of individual needs, industries, and educational environments. SACA offers certifications in three categories: Associate, Specialist, & Professional. Each certification is stackable, allowing individuals to start with one certification and add other certifications to customize their documented skills. Certifications are occupationally focused so they prepare individuals for specific occupations in the world of Industry 4.0.

Certified Industry 4.0

Associate Certifications

  • Basic Operations Associate

  • Advanced Operations Associate

  • Robot Systems Associate

  • IIoT, Networking and Data Analytics Associate

Certified Industry 4.0

Specialist Certifications

  • Automation Systems Specialist

  • Electrical Systems Specialist

  • Mechanical Systems Specialist

  • Control Systems Specialist

  • Electro-Fluid Power Systems Specialist

  • Instrumentation Systems Specialist

  • Robotics Systems Specialist

  • Network Systems Specialist

  • Operations Specialist

  • Production Systems Specialist

  • IT Systems Specialist

  • Industry 4.0 Professional

Certified Industry 4.0

Professional Certifications

SACA certifications are industry-driven, developed for industry by industry. They are developed through a rigorous process that begins with the creation of truly international skill standards, endorsed by leading experts in Industry 4.0 technologies throughout the world. Certification examinations are created based on these standards, pilot tested, and statistically analyzed to ensure quality. Each certification includes a proctored hands-on evaluation and an online test to ensure that candidates for certification can "do" as well as "know." SACA uses an annual review process for all certifications to ensure that standards and examinations remain current and relevant in the fast-changing world of Industry 4.0.

Silver and Gold Certifications

All SACA certifications can be attained on two levels: Silver and Gold. 

SACA Silver Certifications: This certification is awarded to candidates who successfully pass the written knowledge exam. These exams are delivered online through the SACA testing portal. Once the candidate is ready to take the certification test, the proctor logs into the SACA site and clicks the online proctor button. The candidate will then remotely access the certification test.

Silver Certification is ideal for those individuals who are seeking to validate online core achievement or when hands-on testing is not available.


SACA Gold Certifications: This certification is awarded to candidates that successfully pass the written knowledge exam and successfully complete the hands-on performance assessments on approved equipment. Once the skills are demonstrated correctly and reported by the proctor, the candidate is eligible to receive the full Gold certification.

Teacher Training / Certifications

SACA provides extensive training courses to equip teachers to promote Industry 4.0 certifications. These professional development opportunities are offered throughout the year at regional centers. Courses last 3-5 days each. Upon successful completion of each course, teachers will be certified in the process of examining students for a given credential and administrating a certification preparation course. 

Certification Levels


SACA Membership Information

Companies and educational institutions can both become members of SACA. SACA membership enables organizations to certify individuals, stay on top of the latest news in Industry 4.0, and become part of the Industry 4.0 community.

Education Memberships

Provide Industry 4.0 Certifications

As an educational member, institutions have the opportunity to become an authorized certification center, deliver free certifications to students, and be informed of latest developments in Industry 4.0 technology. All you need to do is have an instructor become SACA-certified to enable them to provide certifications.

For a full list of benefits and in-depth details of educational partnership levels, please click here.

If you're interested in becoming a member, please fill out a membership form.

Industry Memberships

Promote Industry 4.0 Skills

As an Industry member, you have the unique opportunity to  provide scholarships to sponsor educational institutions and teachers when they start new certification programs in Industry 4.0, impact the standards and future direction of the certifications, and promote the leadership in Industry 4.0 education. Industry membership is available for an annual fee, which they can designate to sponsor schools.

For a full list of benefits and in-depth details of industrial partnership levels, please click here.

If you're interested in becoming a member, please fill out a membership form.

Provide SACA Certifications to Employees:

Industry members have the ability to train and certify  their employees for no additional fees. All you need to do is have an employee become SACA-certified to enable them to provide certifications to others.

Membership Institutions

SACA members are ready to train and certify current and future workforce members in Industry 4.0 skills and best practices. Click on the list below to see if there is a SACA member near you! If not, read about our Silver Certifications.

If you're interested in becoming a SACA member, please fill out either the Education Member Order Form or the Industry Member Order Form. SACA certifications are supported by major companies and our standards have been refined to provide the most vital Industry 4.0 skills.

Industry Members

- R

     > Rockwell Automation

- S

     > Shaw Industries

Schools - United States

- Arizona

     > Pima Community College

- Arkansas

     > Arkansas Tech Career Center

- Florida


     > Hillsborough Community College

     > Lake Technical School

- Georgia

     > Savannah Technical School

- Illinois

     > College of Lake County

     > Parkland College

- Iowa

     > Hawkeye Community College

- Minnesota

     > The Idea Circle

- Nevada

     > Western Nevada College

- New York

     > Genesee Valley BOCES

     > Monroe Community College

- North Carolina

     > Piedmont Community College

- North Dakota

     > North Dakota State College of Science

Schools - International

- Costa Rica

     > CEDES Don Bosco

Membershp Institutions


bottom of page